PDA

View Full Version : Crashes Since New Patch


McBain
15-05-05, 06:30 PM
Ever since the update yesterday, I seem to crash to desktop at somepoint during the first round of a new map?

I connect back in and all is fine...

Anyone else experiencing this?

Penguin
15-05-05, 06:40 PM
i've crashed once while it was trying to load a new map..... but apart from that i havent experienced any other crashes *touches 'wood'*

helios
15-05-05, 08:49 PM
mite b related to your other CSS problems?????????

everything has been fine with me, except a bit of xtra time warp.

McBain
15-05-05, 08:55 PM
Well, Crippler also crashed out, I thought you did on go_nuke too? Or was it Penguin?

Crippler2032
16-05-05, 02:21 AM
yeah i crashed out for the first time last night on Spetnaz? CS:S just froze up. i had to use ctrl+alt+del to get rid of it, but it didnt crash steam suprisingly.

helios
16-05-05, 07:30 AM
i think we both did, but that was when we were getting REALLY bad timewarp and lots of packet loss, either the server needin that reboot Or NTL methinks, could be summat to do with the update but i ent convinced yet.

Sc00by
16-05-05, 02:09 PM
For the record I'm on NTL and not getting the packet loss/Time warp problems (when I'm actually playing that is... ) Oh and no crashes (on friday night when i was playing) either

Penguin
16-05-05, 03:02 PM
it's because they're upgrading the line in mine and Helios's area sc00bs, that's why only me and Helios are affected :D

helios
16-05-05, 03:50 PM
Yup, only people on the dunstable ntl thinggy, which is what penguin and i are on - to do with their 2mb upgrade.

McBain
16-05-05, 05:29 PM
I can't see a poor connection being to blame for exactly the same type of crash that me and Cripps got? All of us at the same time I believe too? You're trying to tell me it was coincidence and nothing to do with the game? :?

helios
16-05-05, 06:29 PM
hmm, mabe, but i had like 60 lost packets before i crashed out, and one person can affect other peps on the server, so if penguin and i both had high packet loss, then it might fit, BUT i dunno, it could be either for penguin and i, but we ent crashed on anything else att

Penguin
16-05-05, 06:35 PM
i think its the patch- i was playing against bots on a local server today and it crashed out :(

IXL
17-05-05, 05:23 AM
No probs here...

helios
17-05-05, 07:23 AM
meh, could be the patch causing the time warp and lost packets then?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?

McBain
17-05-05, 07:29 AM
The perfomance of our server does seem to have dropped since the patch, which is odd because it was supposed to improve the bots and lower the CPU usage for them? Maybe they just cocked it up?

helios
17-05-05, 09:17 AM
well, bots dont seem to be able to break grates now :S they go through all their ammo, and end up with a knife for the rest o the round - pretty useless for assault 2005

McBain
17-05-05, 09:19 AM
Yeah, I wonder if anything will be done, so bots know how to knife grates instead? Otherwise not sure Assault 2005 should stay in at present...

helios
17-05-05, 10:04 AM
Just lookin on cs-server, they have this


NTL Packet Loss Issues
Posted: 16-5-2005 at 20:31:41 By: Ransom Stark
We have been having an issue today with certain NTL customers experiencing high packet loss to us. This was due to the saturation on the NTL LINX peer. This has temporarily been dropped and the traffic re-routed, until NTL can resolve the issue. This will mean 1 more hop, but the latency has now gone back to normal. We will keep you posted on this.

Crippler2032
17-05-05, 12:54 PM
well, bots dont seem to be able to break grates now

Was the thing with the grates supposed to happen in the update? (only being able to break them with a knife?) was it an 'improvement'?

helios
17-05-05, 01:48 PM
making bullets unaffected by grates and fences, yes it was intentional.

Sc00by
17-05-05, 03:54 PM
The perfomance of our server does seem to have dropped since the patch, which is odd because it was supposed to improve the bots and lower the CPU usage for them? Maybe they just cocked it up?

Nah it can't be that cos everyone knows that programmers neve.. I'll shut up now...

I guess that they've hired Microsoft's product testers? ;)

helios
17-05-05, 03:56 PM
:thumbs: nice 1 scoobs, does seem like it

McBain
18-05-05, 05:30 AM
I've alerted the authorities (http://www.turtlerockstudios.com/forums/csbot/viewtopic.php?t=936) of the problem :busted: (http://www.turtlerockstudios.com/forums/csbot/viewtopic.php?t=936)