PDA

View Full Version : Rates etc you've set on your server


Norfolk'n'Clue
07-11-05, 10:12 PM
Alright guys, been playin on these for awhile, love the maps.


anyway, arse-kissing out of the way, what are the rates an' stuff for your server so I can tune my connection?

thanks in adv.

I.

Penguin
07-11-05, 10:14 PM
hey :welcome:
Welcome to the forums :thumbs: Why not come and post in the "Just registered and want to say hi" thread?

The ideal rates for me are cl_updaterate 100, cl_cmdrate 100 and rate 25000

Just type those into the console if you don't have a clue what I'm on about ;)
Theres also a good article here (http://www.enemydown.co.uk/article.php?id=106)

Norfolk'n'Clue
07-11-05, 10:31 PM
Nice one penguin, thanks for that. Doesn't it help if the rates match your server settings tho?

I'll chuck em in and try 'em :)

helios
07-11-05, 10:31 PM
25000 is the max, and can cause some connections problems. If it does, try tweaking it down to 20000 or 15000, and that should do it.

McBain
07-11-05, 11:22 PM
I think the bigger issue is your own connection. Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but the server just sets what your max and minimum client settings can be... the actual settings are up to you.

Also, :welcome:

Norfolk'n'Clue
07-11-05, 11:59 PM
Check this topic in valve-erc wiki, its really good.

http://www.valve-erc.com/srcsdk/general/multiplayer_networking.html

Fat Tony
08-11-05, 10:33 AM
hey norfolk, welcome to the forums.
not that this has anything to do with the thread, but what part of norfolk you from?
try introducing you're self here. (http://www.lanarchy.co.uk/viewtopic.php?t=2447) and i hope you enjoy you're stay :thumbs:

Norfolk'n'Clue
08-11-05, 06:47 PM
Go on, then, twist me arm :)

http://www.lanarchy.co.uk/viewtopic.php?p=48808#48808

Fat tony, I'm not from norfolk at all. In order to get the full joy you have to say it quickly. Although I'm well bored of it now, it is a name I use, so can't be arsed to change it :), even tho it is pretty lame.

Fat Tony
08-11-05, 10:21 PM
oh i get it, like the norfolk 'n' good ;)

lnr
17-11-05, 05:33 PM
How can you tell if ur rates are good?

Norfolk'n'Clue
17-11-05, 05:54 PM
bring up net_graph 2 ingame. The colours tell you some interesting stuff... well if you check out http://www.gotfrag.com/cs/story/30057/?cpage=1 it explains the colours.

Then you basically juggle around with your net settings until you start seeing a good graph.

I've recently decided to have a config for each regular server I play on to tune my network to each one.

lnr
18-11-05, 09:23 AM
yeah...
I just have a green line...
:?:

helios
18-11-05, 05:25 PM
which is good. If you get red, then you gotta start tweaking.

lnr
19-11-05, 10:10 AM
So confusing...had just a green line before I changed...but someone said I needed to (shortly after a brilliant headshot :D) and I figured I could take a look. Now I've set it to the max and I'm none too chuffed because it doesn't feel as good as before. And the green line is just a line. No peaks or anything, ironing board style.
Is that normal? And if a continually green line is cool, then can I set my rates back to what they were?
Also, if rates have something to do with line speed, my line was just upgraded to a 2mg from a 512k (only just found out the other day, pleasant surprise :D), so would that affect my defaults?
I'm full of questions....and pie....mmmm pie....
:dozey:

helios
19-11-05, 01:40 PM
really, the higher the rates you can get, the better, it means you will be sending more data to the server, so more accurate positioning.