PDA

View Full Version : Setting Up Counter Strike & PODbot


McBain
23-06-02, 08:02 AM
Okay, many people are still just finding there way into the wonder that is Counter Strike, so here is a small guide to setting it up for the first time -

There are two ways you can play CS, one is buying Half Life and downloading it, the other is to buy Counter Strike from the shops. Half Life is only

McBain
03-11-02, 08:54 AM
Once you have CS installed you may want to practice a little before you head on-line. For this you will want a decent bot to play against. Lanarchy recommends Podbot for this. Click here (http://cs.andycr.com/pod25ins.exe) to download the self extracting file. Run the program and it should find your Counter Strike and install itself for you.

You may want to try them out at this point (although they can be pretty hard to beat for beginners) so go into CS and select 'Play CS' -> 'Play on LAN' and then 'Create'. Now choose your map, and set the Max Players to about 12 and click 'OK'.

It will now create your 'LAN Game'. When it has loaded, it should automatically add some bots for you, so choose your own team and off you go!

If you wish to add more bots, press '=' and select 'Add random bot'. There are various other options for you on the podbot menu. You can even kill all the bots so if your dead, you can get on with a new round.

Now, if your finding them a little hard to beat, come back out of CS and download this zip (http://cs.andycr.com/files/podskills.zip) file. Unzip the two files into your 'cstrike/podbot/' folder, replacing the files there before.

You should now find them an easier skill level.

Any questions, post below...

briktopp
03-06-03, 10:23 PM
ok ive been downloading waypoints ino the podbot directory for COF matches with custom maps.

I found that with the mod version of CS i had to put PodBot into sierra/halflife and not the subsequent cstrike directory to get it to work

jus tin case anyone else has the same problem

sonic_dude
05-08-03, 08:16 AM
can someone post a url to tell me where to get waypoints because there arnt any for rats,or mice levels and i really like playing them :)

Sc00by
05-08-03, 11:25 AM
try cs-maps.jolt.co.uk which is where I get my waypoints from.

http://www.cs-maps.jolt.co.uk/ (I think I'm at work so i can't verify that)

sonic_dude
05-08-03, 11:36 AM
ok thnx scoobs ill try that site then

McBain
05-08-03, 02:30 PM
If you simply cannot find a waypoint, the best place to go is Nukebox. The person that wrote PODbot, and for a great part helped with the bots on CS:CZ is a mod over there (although he doesn't post much these days) -

http://forums.nuclearbox.com/

They have a Maps & Waypoints forum, do a search first, to check if anyone else has asked for the waypoints first, otherwise just post, asking politelty if someone could waypoint the maps you need. Always provide a download link for the map you would like waypointing too. :thumbs:

sonic_dude
05-08-03, 02:39 PM
cheeers,
jolt doesnt seem to let me download them for some reason, it ses error the file you requested is no longer availible on ne of there downloads

Sc00by
05-08-03, 03:15 PM
Yeah you get that a lot. If you read their FAQ they explain why too. Just keep trying you'll get it eventually... (it's all to do with bandwitdth)

sonic_dude
06-08-03, 07:16 AM
well from all of your help here i managed to come across another waypoint with an installer so u dont have to extract them all ! , it has over 3000 map waypoints on it and it is shweeeettt

Sc00by
06-08-03, 09:40 AM
Yeah I found something similar, but can't remember where I got it from. Out of interest can you post a link to the waypoint file you've downloaded? It may be of interest to others

sonic_dude
06-08-03, 03:38 PM
ok here is the link for it, its 35 megs so, and it is fileplanet :( http://www.fileplanet.com/files/110000/119536.shtml

Sc00by
28-08-03, 01:52 AM
If you are setting up PODBot, you may also want to download these two little add-ons for it.

One (http://www3.telus.net/mean/) is a bot manager and
The other (http://www.poxbot.de/) is a mod for PODBot that makes the bots that little bit more realistic. (though they are still only as good as the waypoints you have available!

Read the instructions that come with the downloads to execute a perfect install. Further help can be found Here (POXBot) (http://www.lanarchy.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=566&start=0) and here (mEAn) (http://www.lanarchy.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=572)

Sc00by
28-08-03, 02:14 AM
Also model packs are a popular upgrade to CS*

The two most commonly used are:

CS|RU (http://www.csrealism.com/html/home.htm) and the Fusion Pack (http://www.games-fusion.net/index.php)

*Some on-line servers will refuse you entry if you have modified models (this is thanks to unscrupulous gits who use 'cheat' models to help them see other players - I'll say no more about this 'practise' and I expect no one else to add to this. You have been warned!)

Make sure you back up your existing cstrike directory BEFORE you install any models, just in case you do need to revert to the 'standard' pack (though the CS|RU installer will do this for you - I'm not sure about the Fusion pack one)

More information on models is available In this Thread (http://www.lanarchy.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=450)

Skavorn
28-08-03, 02:32 AM
Go for the CS|RU its awesome!!!

Sniper
29-09-03, 03:49 PM
if u give them guns they have like 100% accuracy almost impossible to beat!

Sc00by
29-09-03, 04:01 PM
If you give who guns? The bots? Nah even I can beat the bots is the damn H4X0RS I play against that shouldn't be allowed guns!

sonic_dude
26-10-03, 10:37 PM
now this is what i call cs realism

http://home.comcast.net/~colebruns/cs.htm

:thumbs:

SpyHunterUK
18-11-03, 05:20 PM
it is not working :cry:

do i need to put the d/l somewhere :?: :? :?

SpyHunterUK
27-11-03, 04:53 PM
HEEEEEELLLLLLLLLLLLPPPPP MMMMMMMMEEEEE :wink:

[OLSC]Fizban
27-11-03, 05:06 PM
Help you how? The thread mentions at least three products so a hint on which one you have downloaded may help, also is this for CS 1.5 or 1.6 as that would make a differance and does the download come with any documenation for installing it or is it on the projects homepage?

Fizban
The cause of the problem is:
PEBKAC (Problem Exists Between Keyboard And Chair)

SpyHunterUK
27-11-03, 05:44 PM
CS 1.5

PODbot waypoint thingy

[OLSC]Fizban
27-11-03, 06:25 PM
Ok have you ran the download to install it yet? And if so have your read c:/SIERRA/Half-Life/cstrike/PODBot/Docs/readme.html ?

Fizban
The cause of the problem is:
Too many interrupts

McBain
27-11-03, 08:33 PM
Whenever you ask for help, it is always worth giving as much detail as possible. Thus far I think there has been next to none :roll:

Please state exactly what the problem is. Ta.

SpyHunterUK
28-11-03, 09:59 PM
when i go into the game it says i cant add bots or cant even start the map casus no waypoints/cant add bots

i have CS 1.5

and this is the PC built by Psycho Hamster


happy now :?: :)

sonic_dude
28-11-03, 10:05 PM
i had the same problem, just reinstall podbot and install the waypoints in the pb directory

SpyHunterUK
28-11-03, 10:08 PM
oh :evil: :behead: :snm: :flipa: :beep: :bird: :mwah: :patty:


did anyone else have the same prob apart from sonic :?:

HUNTER
28-11-03, 10:09 PM
nope, i just installed it and got bored right away, aint the same as playing against real guys :D

Crippler2032
28-11-03, 10:13 PM
You probably dont have waypoints for the map your trying to load, have you downloaded any waypoint packs from the net? cause the Podbot install only covers default maps as far as i remember

SpyHunterUK
28-11-03, 10:21 PM
i d/l the extra PODbot waypoints having d/l podbot months ago :!:

McBain
28-11-03, 10:55 PM
Make sure they are in the 'wptsdefault' folder. Infact, delete the other folders.

SpyHunterUK
30-11-03, 09:22 AM
yeh but the problem is that i cant even find my half life directory :!:

i d/l to:

C:\Program Files\Half-Life.Ink

Sc00by
30-11-03, 09:29 AM
try c:\sierra\half-life

SpyHunterUK
30-11-03, 09:31 AM
what about:

c:\sierra\half-life\half-life.ink

McBain
30-11-03, 09:34 AM
Why not just -

1) search your whole computer for 'cstrike'

2) right click your CS or HL icon and select properties. In 'Target' it should list the directory it is installed to.